top of page

Catching up and Collaborative Project

My first week of theatre was like jumping in a ball pit. It took me some time to catch up and quickly adapt to what was happening in class. I found myself in the middle of the Collaborative Theatre Project, in which they had decided on the theme of "assumptions". They had also chosen the professional theatre company "Tangled Feet" to take inspiration from.


On Tuesday, we decided to explore that topic within our own experiences. Then we watched a video entitled "Three Little Pigs advert" by The Guardian, which was pertinent to the theme, as it showed the story of the three little pigs being influenced by media. People of in the internet constantly shared their opinion on who is truly to blame, making their own assumptions on the issue.


During the next class, we decided that we wanted to take the concept of the media expanding a topic into something else entirely into the project. We then discussed and shared our ideas on what issues we could base a story on. By the end we got a good amount of ideas; misconception of planned parenthood, depression, activism, and body image. The one that got the most interest was the concept of someone that heavily relied on pills. And by the end, we envisioned the main character to disappear, thus causing gossip, only to return and disprove everyone's assumptions.


To get more ideas, we played the improvisation game "I,you,me". Where the first person would say an "I" statement with the other replying with a "you" statement and lastly, the first person will state a "we" statement. The exercise mostly resulted in a scenario in which one would say something about pills/drugs and the other asking and questioning them.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Artistic elements and connecting them to past theatre

For The Seagull, I want to craft it into being very minimalistic. I want to highlight the script, the characters, and the plot through simplicity. A production that I used as inspiration is a producti

Starting the Director's Notebook

This week we started working on the Director's Notebook. For this assignment, I chose The Seagull by Anton Chekhov, as I enjoyed its representation of art and artists. For beginning my research by loo

Solo Project Workshop

On February 6, I attended a workshop with Simon Bell about the Solo Project. There we explored the theory of Jacques Lecoq, focusing on the aspect of movement. We did various exercises, and with each

bottom of page