top of page

Exploration

For my exploration, I focused mostly on the use of media. Upon learning that I could use a live feed, I experimented with camera work. I tried various angles, allowing me to focus on different details. First I focused on my hands, playing with the props, and with that, I was able to see how much emotion I can portray just with my hands. If I curled my hand in a fist, it can indicate me being frustrated or mad or fiddled it could show how I'm nervous and uncertain. Next, I experiment with showing my face. Right from the start, this made everything more intimate, and as someone not used to being on camera, it made me feel more nervous. Furthermore, I think my nervousness was able to transcend to the screen, possibly giving that same feeling to the audience.


Another thing I was able to experiment with was projections. I was able to use a projector at home, which enabled me to practice on different surfaces. When on a clear plain wall, the projection was clear, meanwhile when projected on something like a door, it created a distorted image, creating an eerie atmosphere to the element. Along with this, I played around with the distance from the projector. When closer, it made everything more intimate, meanwhile when it was farther, everything felt more distant.


These explorations gave me a better understanding of the element of film and projections, making me more aware on how to use them in my performance.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Solo Project Workshop

On February 6, I attended a workshop with Simon Bell about the Solo Project. There we explored the theory of Jacques Lecoq, focusing on the aspect of movement. We did various exercises, and with each

Further Practice

Initially, I had a storyboard for the prerecorded film to be projected in the background of my piece. Along with this, I had blocking that will represent the mother in the monologue. But with the know

Deciding on my monologue

For this week I mainly used this time to decide on a monologue. I decided on using a monologue from The Darker Face of the Earth by Rita Dove. It is a monologue by the character Phebe, who was born on

bottom of page