top of page

Further Practice

Initially, I had a storyboard for the prerecorded film to be projected in the background of my piece. Along with this, I had blocking that will represent the mother in the monologue. But with the knowledge I could use a live feed, I decided to approach the monologue differently. Instead, I portray it as the narrator, like she is going through a memory box. I will have a table with props to indicate something for her memories. Though within the context of the actual play, it would be impossible for her to have those props and a table, in this case, I interpreted the set as her inner thoughts. Thus, the setting for this monologue lies within her mind, which works accordingly to Mitchell's focus on the psychology of the character. There are also multiple moments of silences. This allows the audience to focus on what is projected on the screen, watching my hands as they unravel memories through the various props. It allows me to think, making the monologue feel more genuine and raw, as it takes time for the character to come to terms with what she is remembering.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Solo Project Workshop

On February 6, I attended a workshop with Simon Bell about the Solo Project. There we explored the theory of Jacques Lecoq, focusing on the aspect of movement. We did various exercises, and with each

Exploration

For my exploration, I focused mostly on the use of media. Upon learning that I could use a live feed, I experimented with camera work. I tried various angles, allowing me to focus on different details

Deciding on my monologue

For this week I mainly used this time to decide on a monologue. I decided on using a monologue from The Darker Face of the Earth by Rita Dove. It is a monologue by the character Phebe, who was born on

bottom of page