top of page

About Katie Mitchell

This week I focused on my research and learning about Katie Mitchell and her influences.


Here is some of what I learned:


Kate Mitchell Berkshire in 1964, grew up in the small village of Hermitage and read English at Magdalen College, Oxford. She began her theatre career in 1986 with a job at the King’s Head Theatre as a production assistant. She became an assistant director at Paines Plough a year later, and then took the same post at the Royal Shakespeare Company in 1988. In 1990, she founded her own company, Classics on a Shoestring, where she directed a number of pioneering and highly acclaimed productions including the House of Bernada Alba and Women of Troy.


In the decades with followed, Mitchell worked as an associate director with the Royal Court Theatre, the Royal Shakespeare Company, and the National Theatre. Whilst at the RSC, she was responsible for programming at the now-defunct black box space, The Other Place, and her production of The Phoenician Women earned her the Evening Standard Award for Best Director.


One of the sources that I investigated this week was an interview for Oxford, in which she explained her past and how she has pursued theatre in the midst of the pandemic. I learned that Mitchell has strong influences on visual art, as she originally wanted to a painter. Along with this, she is more fascinated with theatre abroad as she thought they were more diverse and less traditional. This mindset is actually a reaction to the events surrounding her childhood, particularly during 1974, where Peter Brooks was a prominent figure, along with tensions on driving out European influence in theatre


In this following week, I hope to learn more about her theories and find an aspect of theatre I would like to use in my solo project


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Solo Project Workshop

On February 6, I attended a workshop with Simon Bell about the Solo Project. There we explored the theory of Jacques Lecoq, focusing on...

Further Practice

Initially, I had a storyboard for the prerecorded film to be projected in the background of my piece. Along with this, I had blocking...

Exploration

For my exploration, I focused mostly on the use of media. Upon learning that I could use a live feed, I experimented with camera work. I...

Comentários


bottom of page