top of page

Continuing the Solo Project

For the first week back to school, we had some time to return to working on our solo projects. At this point, I have decided my theorist and am currently contemplating on what monologue to choose. First I am looking through Shange's "For Colored Girls", which are poems turned into the script. I like the narrative of this play as it is very descriptive and that could be interesting to interpret through media. The other play I looked at was "The shape of things" by Neil Labute. Particularly there is this monologue in which a girl describes her sculpture of a man to an audience. There she describes her experiences with him, which could be an element I could try portraying through media.


During this week we did a warm-up that I think could be useful for this project. In the activity, we pre-recorded ourselves acting out the scene verbally. Then along with my partner, we performed it to our peers only focusing on our physicality. Our teacher each gave us a movement to do and when we should do the movement. Mine was going closer and farther from the camera, while my partner's prescribed action was to ignore me and continue looking at their book. We performed playing the pre-recorded audio and reacting physically to the recording. My movement was quite physical requiring me to love quite a bit, and I struggle to figure out when to move closer to the camera. Overall, I think the warm-up helped me realize the relationship between the physicality of the character versus what is being said verbally. With the different actions my peers were given, the character I played could seem distant, mad, or annoyed. And I think it could be interesting to experiment that with my solo piece, to see different interpretations of the character.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Solo Project Workshop

On February 6, I attended a workshop with Simon Bell about the Solo Project. There we explored the theory of Jacques Lecoq, focusing on the aspect of movement. We did various exercises, and with each

Further Practice

Initially, I had a storyboard for the prerecorded film to be projected in the background of my piece. Along with this, I had blocking that will represent the mother in the monologue. But with the know

Exploration

For my exploration, I focused mostly on the use of media. Upon learning that I could use a live feed, I experimented with camera work. I tried various angles, allowing me to focus on different details

bottom of page