top of page

Creating My Moment of Theatre

This week I was able to spend more time actually doing the movements in Talchum. I watched several instruction videos, all of which were similar yet had some differences. With every exercise, I would begin by doing some stretching for 5-10 mins, as I am not a dancer myself. I would then watch the videos and follow the movements the person was doing in the video. The videos I watched were all in Korean, so I couldn't understand their specific explanations of the movements themselves. I can, however, read Korean words (slowly), so I was able to know what some of the movements were called, and even translated them to English.

Here are some translations for the movements in the video:

불림 - Calling out

고개잡이 - Head

다리들기 - lifting legs

황소걸음- Bull walking

여 다지 - dodge

까치걸음 - Stride

(I haven't been able to translate one of the movements)


This week I also continued looking for more music that I could use. Right now, I'm thinking of recording the instrumentals from an actual performance on youtube. With that, I could take the times where the actor speaks, mute it, and use the moment to perform my monologue.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Moment of Theatre Continued (5/4)

Currently, I am still focused on my moment of Theatre. I have been looking at other examples to help me with how I could execute my moment of theatre. Currently, I think that I have been looking at th

Moment of Theatre (4/27-5/1)

This week we focused solely on the moment of theatre for our research project. I have been having trouble with this aspect because of the complex nature of my theatre tradition, and how specific it is

Origin of Bongsan Talchum

In the week April 13-17, we mainly directed our focus on researching the origins of Bongsan Talchum. I found the books from UW to have been especially useful in terms of learning more about its histor

bottom of page