top of page

Moment of Theatre Continued (5/4)

Currently, I am still focused on my moment of Theatre. I have been looking at other examples to help me with how I could execute my moment of theatre. Currently, I think that I have been looking at the moment of theatre, as something that should be polished and perfect. I had forgotten that the demonstration was supposed to be more of a "work in progress".


Currently, I have found myself deciding on which monologue to use in my moment. I have an essay that includes excerpts of dialogues and the poetry they would use in Talchum.

Below is a poem for a monk:


Since there was no calendar in the mountains.

Unknown to me came the change of seasons.

When the flowers bloom.

It must be the spring season.

When the leaves on the trees grow.

It must be the summer season.

When the leaves of Paulownia fall.

it must be the autumn season.

When the snowflakes

Fall on the green pines and bamboos, It is no other than the winter season.

I, originally a libertine of the country.

Have been engaging in a hermit-like existence

In the mountains.

But when I hear the sound of music,

I lose my interest in prayer to Buddha.

With this elegant music

Shall I have some fun?

Although my hair is gray, My mind is still young.


However, I think I may continue using a monologue from Caucasian Chalk Circle, as that was the original direction that I planned to go in. Furthermore, I could not find a direct source for this monologue, making its origin ambiguous.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creating My Moment of Theatre

This week I was able to spend more time actually doing the movements in Talchum. I watched several instruction videos, all of which were similar yet had some differences. With every exercise, I would

Moment of Theatre (4/27-5/1)

This week we focused solely on the moment of theatre for our research project. I have been having trouble with this aspect because of the complex nature of my theatre tradition, and how specific it is

Origin of Bongsan Talchum

In the week April 13-17, we mainly directed our focus on researching the origins of Bongsan Talchum. I found the books from UW to have been especially useful in terms of learning more about its histor

bottom of page