top of page

Moment of Theatre (4/27-5/1)

This week we focused solely on the moment of theatre for our research project. I have been having trouble with this aspect because of the complex nature of my theatre tradition, and how specific it is. We discussed on using a monologue from Caucasian Chalk Circle, as it embodies similar themes from what a traditional Talchum performance would have. We also decided that music was an integral part of the tradition, thus I searched for any I could use. I listened to several scores inspired by Caucasian Chalk Circle but found that they would not work as well as the traditional music. Currently, I was only able to find one recording of such music they used in the tradition, which I linked below.


Outside of this, I recently read Rhinoceros for my play reading report, which I thought to be an interesting take on the idea of mass hysteria. I also recently watched a production of Twelfth Night by the National Theatre, which I enjoyed. The most intriguing part of the production was the modern interpretation of the characters and plot. Technically, I was amazed by the set design, at how extravagant it was, and how it was manipulated for different scenes. I also enjoyed the integration of lighting within the set, particularly in the duel scene.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creating My Moment of Theatre

This week I was able to spend more time actually doing the movements in Talchum. I watched several instruction videos, all of which were similar yet had some differences. With every exercise, I would

Moment of Theatre Continued (5/4)

Currently, I am still focused on my moment of Theatre. I have been looking at other examples to help me with how I could execute my moment of theatre. Currently, I think that I have been looking at th

Origin of Bongsan Talchum

In the week April 13-17, we mainly directed our focus on researching the origins of Bongsan Talchum. I found the books from UW to have been especially useful in terms of learning more about its histor

bottom of page