top of page

Meeting with my mentor and my chosen theatre aspect

For my first meeting with my mentor, I mainly managed the discussion by explaining Mitchell's theory of theatre. I emphasized her use of multimedia and her feminist perspective on creating theatre, as I thought those were Mitchell's key points. Furthermore, I presented Mitchell's achievements and her past experiences in theatre to show her influence in the field. And lastly, I discussed the historical background focusing on how Mitchell focused in international theatre, and the feminist movement in London at that time, to explain her theatre influences.


Having to explain Katie Mitchell as a practitioner allowed me to recognize key points in her ideology. And furthermore, I received feedback on what my peer thought was interesting to expand upon. My mentor liked the idea of multimedia and encouraged me to explore it more.


Thus for my theatre aspect, I chose the use of Multimedia. I think this will be a new method for me to represent a character, as I not only have to present them physically but also psychologically. And overall, I'm interested in exploring to what extent I can utilize a different form of art in theatre and how that can relate or contrast my physical performance.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Solo Project Workshop

On February 6, I attended a workshop with Simon Bell about the Solo Project. There we explored the theory of Jacques Lecoq, focusing on the aspect of movement. We did various exercises, and with each

Further Practice

Initially, I had a storyboard for the prerecorded film to be projected in the background of my piece. Along with this, I had blocking that will represent the mother in the monologue. But with the know

Exploration

For my exploration, I focused mostly on the use of media. Upon learning that I could use a live feed, I experimented with camera work. I tried various angles, allowing me to focus on different details

bottom of page