top of page

World Theatre Traditions

Updated: Mar 16, 2020

Last week, we began our new project on researching world theatre traditions. This is supposed to prepare us for the research presentation required by IB. Before beginning our investigation, we watched examples from past students and discussed them. I found it interesting to see the different traditions that they researched, along with their moments of theatre.


So far, I have looked into Chinese shadow puppets and Karagoz shadow puppetry because I was interested in crafting something for this project. The different styles of puppets were interesting to me, seeing how the art styles were presented in the puppets themselves. Overall, I enjoyed seeing the unique use of different artistic elements such as art and music used in the performances.


I also have researched other traditions such as Rakugo and Noh theatre, which are both based in Japan. From what I was able to see, I liked the acting conventions that were different from Comedy of manners. I also was interested in costumes and props, as they used simple props and traditional Japanese clothing.

I hope to continue researching more theatre traditions and finalize my decision by the next class.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Creating My Moment of Theatre

This week I was able to spend more time actually doing the movements in Talchum. I watched several instruction videos, all of which were similar yet had some differences. With every exercise, I would

Moment of Theatre Continued (5/4)

Currently, I am still focused on my moment of Theatre. I have been looking at other examples to help me with how I could execute my moment of theatre. Currently, I think that I have been looking at th

Moment of Theatre (4/27-5/1)

This week we focused solely on the moment of theatre for our research project. I have been having trouble with this aspect because of the complex nature of my theatre tradition, and how specific it is

bottom of page